World of Warcraft Beginner’s Guide Part 4

Welcome to part 4 of my Beginner’s Guide to World of Warcraft (and the final one). Today we will be taking a deeper look into the World of Warcraft’s endgame PVE (Player Versus Environment) content. We’ll be covering Dungeons and Raids. This is what most players nowadays consider the real content of World of Warcraft, and therefore they speedrun through the levels just to experience new raids and dungeons.


Dungeons in World of Warcraft are small-scale 5 man instances. But they weren’t always small. In Vanilla WoW, you had absolutely huge and confusing dungeons like the Sunken Temple, which had multiple floors and it was a maze. Today, in Battle For Azeroth, dungeons are pretty small and straight-forward. You go in with 4 other people, watch Netflix on your second monitor for 30mins, and look, you’ve completed the dungeon.

But Blizzard fixed that with Mythic+ (Additional difficulty next to Normal and Heroic). Mythic+ Dungeons are basically harder versions of regular dungeons. It adds “affixes” that, for example, make enemies explode when they die, dealing damage. Or even adding additional spells to bosses and trash.

You can start doing dungeons from level 15 by queuing in Dungeon Finder (Shift-I). The system automatically finds you a party and you can do any dungeon this way. Dungeon bosses drop rare items that are much better than the ones you get as quest rewards or drops.

Some of the first dungeons you’ll encounter on low level are:

There are literally hundreds of dungeons in World of Warcraft, so make sure you check out each one during your time in Azeroth!

Ragnaros (Molten Core and Firelands End Boss)
Ragnaros (Molten Core and Firelands End Boss)


Now we’re getting into the real thing. Raids in World of Warcraft are something every new player strives for when they first start playing the game. You can start raiding current content when you hit max level (12o as of the time of writing this post). You can’t solo raids, you can’t queue with randoms (Well, you can with LFR (Looking for Raid) system, but that’s not the real Raid), and you absolutely can’t just mindlessly go into the raid expecting people to do stuff for you.

Raids are large scale PVE instances ranging from 10 to 40 players. For example, Karazhan raid in The Burning Crusade was the first 10 man raid. Molten Core was the first raid ever in World of Warcraft and it required 40 people working together to complete it. Currently, there are 4 difficulties:

  • LFR (Looking for raid)
  • Normal
  • Heroic
  • Mythic

LFR drops the worst loot in terms of ilvl (item level), and Mythic drops the best.

Each raid has bosses and trash (smaller and weaker enemies that are scattered in-between bosses). Raid bosses drop the best loot you can get in-game. However, they are not easy to kill. Each boss has different abilities and requires different tactics to kill. So that is why raids require cooperation and knowledge of the game and your class.

Raid Boss
Raid Boss

The End

Hopefully, through this 4 part guide, you have learned the basics of World of Warcraft and are now ready to jump into Azeroth and start getting that sweet loot.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *